Supreme Award Winner

History repeated itself when Orewa pharmacist Des Adams stepped up to collect the Supreme Award for a fourth time since the Awards’ inception 23 years ago. He won the inaugural award in 1987, followed by wins in 1989, 1994 and this year, as well as a category runner-up prize in 1991.

His wins, spanning 23 years, represent the past, present and future of pharmacy. He acknowledges the focus of pharmacy has changed.

“In the old days it was all about leveraging retail business from the dispensing business – turning the dispensary customer into a retail customer. But now the major focus is on value added services from the dispensary such as chronic disease management.” he said.

Des Adams

2009 Supreme Award Winners

Best Community Pharmacy Business

Glenn Summerville & Ross Nicholson – Life Pharmacy, Chartwell

Innovation in Pharmacy Practice Within Primary Care

Des Adams – uLearn’n’Care

Innovation in Hospital Pharmacy

Julie Vickers, Fiona McNabb, Jan Goddard & Shelley Proctor – Pharmacy Services Team, Waikato Hospital

Pharmacy Assistant of the Year

Te Ana Simmonds – Leabank Pharmacy

Young Pharmacist of the Year

Patty Lin – Life Pharmacy Botany

Cosmetic Marketing

Linda Hebden – Albany Village Care Chemist

Technician of the Year

Stacey Haig – Cromwell Pharmacy

Best Complementary Healthcare Business

Jacob Strating, Sameer Singh & Anupama Singh – Ashbury Pharmacy, Timaru

Best Pharmacy Group

Life Pharmacy – Craig Wilson

Supplier of the Year – Best Marketing Campaign

sanofi-aventis – Debra Gibson